Why Guys Should Put on Makeup

Hi Tiffany!
1 min readApr 17, 2018

I can’t remember the first time I started putting on makeup. It must’ve been years ago.

A while back, when I was on Tinder after my breakup, a date had asked:

Why do you put on makeup when you look good already even without makeup? Are you trying to cover up some kind of insecurity?

I wasn’t sure whether or not to feel flattered. Was that supposed to be a compliment?

I say something about makeup making me feel good about myself. That it makes me feel more confident, smarter, sexier and helps set me in the right state of mind each morning the same way a cup of coffee would.

He smirks and says it sounds like an excuse for being insecure.

So I ask him,

“How do you know it’s an excuse when you’ve never put on makeup before?”

Do I have insecurities? Of course.

Do I wear makeup because of insecurities? No.

I wear makeup the same reason why I eat good food, laugh, and workout. I do it because I feel good and because I can.

This post was originally published on misstiffanysun.com. You can find all of my posts, including ones I don’t post on Medium at misstiffanysun.com.

--

--

Hi Tiffany!

Walking through the second chapter of my life by asking: What can I do for the world? You’ll find the answer at http://misstiffanysun.com/about